"Musings and Ramblings of A Convoluted Mind"











{March 11, 2010}   Going Through Changes

I just wanted to stop and share a few images that the hubby drew last night.  We’ve been doing some house planning and running through some landscape ideas for the house.  Recently we’ve been focusing on the back yard and watching a lot of DIY.

Currently we have a cement slab for our patio.  Not pretty.  We want to change it.  We had considered doing a wooden deck but that is really expensive.  So we’ve decided to do a stone patio.  I’m not sure if we will do brick or flagstone.  We are also going to relocate the patio to the side of the house, beside the fence as will eventually build a walkway from the door.

This is the drawing for the basic plan.  We obviously have a lot more to plan aside from this… measurements and such.  But it’s just brainstorming for now.  I’m excited.

This is the close up of the idea he is looking into.  A firepit built into the patio!  I’m excited for that one.  And, hubby paid attention.  He included the palm that I want to get for outside. :o)  Little things like that make me happy.

Has anyone here done their own landscaping and remodeling?  What have your experiences been?  I’m sure I’ll update more as I go.  I had debated just doing a salad garden in pots for this year, but I might go ahead and dig out a small patch.  I’ll need to raise the beds though since our soil is heavily clay.  It just seems like a lot of work right off the bat.  But this is the time for me to do it if I am going to.  Maybe a small garden to start and then expand next spring?

Hmmm….

Ashley says:

That will be such a nice, peaceful place



That looks wonderful. I know you will enjoy your new space so much. One thing that is very important is to make sure you have enough space for all that you want to include and do. When you outline a patio area, it looks so big–until you start putting furniture on it. My recommendation is to get some large cardboard boxes (you can probably ask your local home improvement store to save you some). Cut them into sizes that would represent tables, chairs, fire pits, and anything else that you want to include. Outline your patio area with a garden hose, then arrange your “furniture” on your “patio.” This exercise can be very revealing and helps make sure that the space you create is adequate.

Stan Horst
Publisher: BetterBenches.com



Leave a Reply

et cetera
